The Music

Sugarfree was an alternative rock group that was formed in 1999 and composed of Ebe Dancel (lead vocals/guitar) Jal Taguibao (bass/backup vocals) and Kaka Quisimbing (drums) who replaced Mitch Singson (drums) in 2006. Together, they released five albums: Sa Wakas (2003), Dramachine(2004), Tala-Arawan (2006), Sugarfree Live! with the Manila Symphony Orchestra (2008), and Mornings and Airports (2009). They spawned a variety of pop rock hits such as “Mariposa”, “Burnout”, “Wag Ka Nang Umiyak”, “Tulog Na”, “Hari ng Sablay” and “Makita Kang Muli”.

The group sadly disbanded in 2011, and held their memorable farewell concert “Paalam Pilipinas” in a rainy yet jam-packed Eastwood Plaza. Ebe Dancel now continues to make music as a solo artist under Star Records and has launched his album with the hit Awit Award-winning single, “Bawat Daan” – the very same one he composed for the musical back in 2013.

Sa Wakas aims to re-introduce these heart-wrenching songs to a new generation and present it with a fresh and distinct “broadway-fied” sound.


A Pinoy Rock Musical